New Guinea (West-Papua)

 Browse the different pages below by clicking on the images.

West Papua is the western half of the island of New Guinea, nowdays being Indonesian territory. The eastern part of the Island is the independent country of Papua New Guinea. The Capital of West-Papua is the city of Jayapura located on the north-coast. Its approximate population in 2002 was 200,000.

New Guinea is one of the least explored places on earth (almost) matching the Amazon, and being the second largest island in the world. West Papua alone is home to over 300 tribes and languages. Up until recent times, New guinea was scarcly populated, and natural boundries as thick forests, large rivers and mountains isolated populated areas. Because of this isolation people in the different regions and areas, developed cultural traits and languages – making it a special place to see living tribal culture.

I lived in West-Papua from 2003-2007, studying anthropology at the University of Cenderawasih and conducting research among various tribes in the region.



 Dani Tribe – Baliem Valley Jayapura (city)  Ketengban Tribe 


 Kaure, Aurina and Nawa river (Area) Lepki Tribe   Mek Tribe


 Puncak Jaya & Tembagapura (aerials) Sentani (Lake Sentani)  Tanah Merah (area)


Cenderawasih University, Jayapura